My 71 bay

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Caboose

Reaction score
Hi all, big thanks for all who have put there restore work on earlybay, it has helped me a lot, well this is my first attempt to restore a bay, so in the deep end it is. Been wanting one for years and now's the time. So I try and get some pic's up, would appreciate some ideas how best to tackle some of the work needed thanks.
Rodneythecamper008.jpg

Rodneythecamper005.jpg
chassis front beam area's first to be tackled.
Rodneythecamper004.jpg
n/s jacking point will try and add more pic's. :roll:

The front chassis repairs all depend on budget. You can get salavaged chassis legs but they're not cheap, although you might not need them, get the beam off and start removing the paint and rust (wire cup on a grinder) to see what your dealing with, you might be lucky and need to let in some repairs. If it looks like both legs have had it and need to come off, then you will need to brace the front.

The outrigger/jacking point is toast, but the chassis there looks good, sometime once the outrigger is removed there's a small hole in the chassis to be repaired. Usually the tophat section by the sill requires a repair to (if there's any sill left)

:)

thanks moler, think it would be best to drop out the front beam first then clean up chassis legs.
here some more pics:
Rodneythecamper009.jpg

Rodneythecamper012.jpg

Rodneythecamper003.jpg

Rodneythecamper020.jpg

now for the top no laughing but it can't not make you smile

Rodneythecamper007.jpg

Rodneythecamper002.jpg

Rodneythecamper017.jpg

Will be watching this with interest as I'm a newb when it comes to all things involving grinders and welders, hopefully you will be building up my confidence as you go :mrgreen: - good luck with it!