1968 Westy spare wheel

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gilly1968

Reaction score
Hi guys, newbie here. I have just bought a 68 westy and the spare wheel is mounted on the front. Is this usual as I thought they were fitted somewhere else. Cheers for your help and excuse my ignorance please

Originally it would have been in the well in the rear , front mounts were retro fits on Early buses.

Hi there Gilly 1968 and welcome to the forum.Don`t even hesitate if you need to know something, just ask. On the nearside rear of the van you`ll see a wheel well for the spare,usually hiding under the bed. If you look in the noisey cupboard (engine bay) you`ll see the bottom half of it in the rear, most folks had a spare wheel cover over it. It got trendy for a long time to mount them on the front to make some more space in the back, and a lot still do this. Some say it gives a little protection as well. But its gotta go somewhere .

Ozziedog,,,,,,,,,,,,,Your bus your choice, :mrgreen:

Ok cheers guys, bus gets delivered today. Been up since 6:30 waiting for it haha. I wasn't really into westys so don't know too much about them. Find it strange that the wardrobe unit covers one of the rear side windows!!!!!

Hope it's turned up ok. Don't forget that although the Westy is perhaps the premier conversion, these are in fact all conversions as campers. This was a commercial vehicle designed to be a functioning working van or minibus primarily straight into the commercial van market. All the differing types of conversions were different companies adaptations and ideas as to what would sell as a '''camper''' hence they all have a foible or two :mrgreen:

Ozziedog,,,,, ,,hope you're pleased, now where's the pictures then ! :lol: :p :lol: