Porsche 944 brakes - What bearings and master?

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

joneastwood

Reaction score
Ok so got my 944 hubs, disks and calipers all sorted

got my stock 68 spindles

About to buy the adapter kit either from transporterhause or http://slambulance.skynetblogs.be" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

I know the kits come with spacers, But what inner and outer bearings do I buy, Bay or 944?

Also as I have an early 68 and the master cylinder and reservoir needs replacing and knowing the reservoir is hard to get, Do I or should i change that for a 944?

Thanks

Stock bay inner and outer. The adapters are just a couple of rings that press into the 944 hubs. Hand tip, HEAT the hubs up before pressing the rings in
so you dont stretch the ali.

Be warned, once you start cocking about with Porsche breaks you cant stop (pun intended) :lol:

Well that's got me confused and a bit worried

I've used the 944 hubs, discs and calipers, mounted on French slammer 944 dropped spindles but used porsche bearings and no spacers. Surely the bearings should be 944 ones so they fit n the 944 hubs????

so just to confuse things.

Got my Transporterhaus adapter plates, bearings all ready to start fitting them

But came with zero instructions so I asked what I need to do and have been told this by Transporterhaus

You need to remove the bearing races from the Porsche hubs.
Then press the rings in where the races were. Fit either the Porsche races back or 64-79 bus ones and fit up. On a bay window you will need to source a larger hub seal as the Porsche one is too small. A 1mm larger seal on the ID will do it.
You can use either the pre 85 Porsche bearings or 64-79 vw bus bearings as they are very similar.