Plucking Up Courage!

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Smudge310

Reaction score
Hi All…

Well I bought 'Dusty' (Reg No. 321), a 1971 RHD Dormobile a couple of years ago and have worked on the engine (now got a sweet 1776), gearbox, brake callipers and drive shafts.. basically anything to stall me looking at the bodywork…where Im a complete novice (go to learn somewhere)

Anyway I have now cleared the garage as its been used as storage when we were looking at selling our home (hide all the clutter) and have started to look at the bodywork… but where to start??!

You see I bought it off ebay 'thinking' a lot of the bodywork had been done. I talked to the seller and had further photos taken and everything seemed fine. I know it would have paid me to view it but it was too far away… Well it was delivered and I got all excited, as you can appreciate, then I looks at the body! :shock:
The PO had cut a lot of the old paneling away and replace with new, just not very well.. for example the body panels have been lap welded, but all he did was to lay the new on old and welded….

I have a few photos below of some of the areas I was looking at today…..

I tried the door and as you can see, something isn't right! its seems like door hinges have been set forward as the door also rubs the A-Panel. The top looks like this…

Im not sure whats gone on in this area as the drivers step looks like this, with a gap (approx 10mm). At first I thought this was causing the door to be out but measuring the A to B Panel on both the drivers and passengers side, they are the same (give or take a few mm)

Another area is the roof… I have been told I will need a new roof as it would be easier to repair. what it seems the PO did was just weld on gutter repair panels but did do anything else so the underside of the gutters look like this…..

While the top looks like this…

Good eh??