Mater from San Lorenzo

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CornishSilver

Reaction score
Mater is our 1st Bus and the first words should be thanks to Alistair (aogrady) for selling it to us. Its first Chapter of English life can be found here http://forum.earlybay.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11057" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;. A bit of a risk on my part as I had never driven one before but I've had that overwhelming desire to do so for quite a while now so just took the plunge, binned the T5 and was driving this beauty home a couple of days later.

13227619_484044218435763_4722439463525728589_o_zpsdc2wfcaz.jpg

As a 1st time driver I'm guessing you can imagine the smile all the way home getting used to the ABS, 1ft between shifts, and the power steering, its the 1st time I feel like I've actually driven for a long time :) and the purr from the engine........Many heads turned at tesco, lol. I stopped in the middle of 3 roundabouts trying to find second but I'm getting there. So many cars queued behind me and miles of clear open road, something I really enjoyed, I did manage one overtake..........A 50 year old cyclist :)

Mater made the 50 mile trip home effortlessly onto our driveway where he was greeted by half the street and many admirers. We bought this in-between planned trips so it was straight off to the local Garage for a few checks and a towbar. Didn't have time to hang out for an original but this is a stand in that I'm happy with the look of until one comes along.

P6140339_zps7rvjlgqx.jpg

P6140335_zpsgzokp19i.jpg

P6140330_zpsqd3j3fkr.jpg

Had to pack the bar down to clear the exhaust.

P6150347_zps5x1ghbor.jpg

P6150346_zpss757zune.jpg

Time for me to tidy things up a little and replace the upholstery and familiarise myself with things a little.

P6140344_zps8u6ljj7p.jpg

P6140345_zpskmccak7e.jpg