1641cc Engine Build - Last Chance Saloon for my Bay!

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

B-Boyblue

Reaction score
Hi all,

Right, after buying my 71 camper last year, and having spent more than I thought it would cost to get it running and MOT'd (doesn't it always!) the fact my rebuilt 1641 motor has just seized has pushed me over the edge and me and my bay are not on friendly terms...its been a ballache from the start.

I'm an engine building novice but an engineer by trade so I'm planning to rebuild either the bays motor - depending on what I find when the case is split - or rebuild my Beetles 1641cc motor which had been good as gold until it dropped a valve last month, put that in van and build something bigger for the bug.

Ideally I would take it somewhere to be rebuilt but this camper has eaten all my savings and, to make matter worse, I cant tolerate oil leaks and the amount of people who tell me not to worry about oil leaks - they just leak, surprises me.

My question is can anyone recommend any reliable websites / literature that will go through the process of the strip down and rebuild in detail with tolerances etc. At the end of the day, I'm not building it to be super quick but all I want is it to be reliable and get me and my family away for weekend without the fear of it breaking down and without costing me a fortune in oil having to top it up everyday. Hopefully not too much to ask.

If it goes wrong after this, I'm done with it and its going! :roll:

Any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers :)

there is a dvd for this total rebuild of 1600 engine i bought one for my boy to practise on i will have a look in the house for it maybe the bay of fleas has one

This books pretty good and worth a read - also a good reference point.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/bhp/vw-engine-rebuild" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;